Human life

Watch it here

There are five types of human beings. Nitisundar or those who do not follow any rule or regulation. The “so-called” human beings, one can say: “so-called” human beings. One cannot say that last night he accepted diksa (second initiation) and then became a human being. They are not human beings. It is stated in this way, but their activities are not as humans. How can you tell that they are human beings, is not it?

Manav deho means that the human body is dual. Some people do bhajan and sadhan (spiritual practice) and others do not. You can call those who do not the “so-called” human beings. All its activities are like animals: eating, sleeping, defending and mating. The shastras (scriptures) say they are called humans, but their activities are like animals. Animals also eat. Cows and dogs eat and mate. What is the difference, then?

We say that we are manav, humans. What does it mean? Follow the four principles and chanting the holy names. Without it, how to say that this is a human being?

Thus, Bhaktivinoda Thakur also explains that there are five categories of human beings: nitisundar, nitipradar, etc.

Someday, by their own mouths, they will accept it. But they are not doing it now. The perfect man is he who does bhajan and sadhan and reaches a high state. Understand?

Do you have questions? Sing the holy names.

Devotee: Kanistha adhikari (novice devotee) is the one who has no faith and do not see the Lord everywhere, as you said. But he still commits sinful activities sometimes?

Srila Gurudeva: No, kanistha adhikari does not commit any sinful activity. Sometimes he does not know the proper respect to other Vaishnavas (devotees). And he does not have much knowledge of the sastras, sastra jnani. That’s it. Understand? Kanistha adhikari means this. Sinful activities are for karmis (sense enjoyers). Jnanis (impersonalist philosophers) do not commit sinful activities either. Sinful activities only karmis commit, papa-karma (evil deeds).

Devotee: Even if sometimes he (the devotee) is breaking the four regulative principles or if sometimes he worships the deity and sometimes not?

Srila Gurudeva: Sometimes he has faith, sometimes not. But he can continue worshiping the deity such as the vigraha of Sacinandan.

Devotee: I asked this because sometimes Mahaprabhu is there at the altar…

Srila Gurudeva: Worship Thakurji (deity) is very beautiful…

Devotee: And sometimes you have more faith and sometimes less, you sing and accumulate sukrti (pious spiritual activity)…

Srila Gurudeva: Yes, some sukrti comes, of course. My Gurudev said: for one life only, follow the four principles and chant the holy names. That’s enough for you. That’s enough for you. Sing the holy names and follow the four principles. Understand? That’s enough. Then, in the next birth, you will develop more and more. From kanistha to madhyam (devotee in intermediate level) and then to uttam (advanced devotee). This is very important.

Devotee: But what if the kanistha knows about the transcendental and neglect it?

Srila Gurudeva: He neglects because he has no faith. It all depends. If he has a weak faith, so he neglects. There are no sinful activities in this case. He neglects, but sometimes do puja (worship at the altar). This is because he has some faith. He is not committing sinful activities. How is this possible? He is superior to karmis and also to jnanis. Karmis commit sinful and pious activities and jnanis, nor sinful activities. A devotee is superior to karmis and jnanis, so how can he commit sinful activities? There are no sinful activities there.

Devotee: To receive the diksa mantra is necessary paramatki-sradha (firm faith)? For the Lord is everywhere and sees everything..

Srila Gurudeva: Yes. The feeling does not appear, but he has faith. The feeling comes only in madhyam, uttam and uttam-uttam platforms.

Devotee: So kanistha adhikari is qualified to accept diksa?

Srila Gurudeva: Yes, he should take diksa and then develops little by little. This is called adustani-diksa, formality diksa. Then he again hears hari-katha (topics about Krishna), chanting the holy names and do bhajan and sadhan. So, paramatki-diksa comes. One do note becomes a Vaishnava in one day. It is step by step. Understand?

Gaura Premanande! Haribol!

Print your tickets